Carlo De Mejo – Rest in Peace

carlodemejo-rip

We are sadden to hear of the passing of Italian actor Carlo De Mejo, who appeared in several Lucio Fulci films, such as City of the Living Dead (1980), House by the Cemetery, and Manhattan Baby. He also appeared in Luigi Cozzi’s Contamination (1980), as well as two Bruno Mattei flicks, The Other Hell (1980) and Women’s Prison Massacre (1983).

I am grateful that I had a chance to meet him back in 2011 when he was appearing at a HorrorHound Weekend convention for a House by the Cemetery reunion, along with Catriona MacColl, Giovanni Frezza, Silvia Collatina, & Dagmar Lassander. It was so cool to have the opportunity to meet them. For that show, HorrorHound had a convention special issue, where I wrote a retrospective of House. Later, when I talked to Carlo, and he found out I was the one who wrote this piece, he shook my hand and gave me one of the most heartfelt thank you’s I have ever received. He was so happy that people still to this day, that appreciated the work they did back then. Such a wonderful and sincere man.

Our thoughts go out to his friends and family, and know that he will be missed, but never forgotten.

10 thoughts on “Carlo De Mejo – Rest in Peace

  1. I knew Carlo and were buddies in Rome in 1973 where I ilved for 8 Months and I saw him briefly twice in NYC before the end of that decade but we lost touch and I never saw him again. I also met his mother a few times with him in NYC. I am very saddened by this news which I have just seen. Do you know what he had, I mean an illness, THANK YOU Jonathanlippman@hotmail.fr

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment, Jonathan, and so cool that you were able to meet him. I can’t find any listing for the cause of his death for some reason. But none the less, he is missed.

      Like

      • yes we were great buddies for those months and his girlfriend at the time in Rome was my best buddy.. But they eventually broke up after I left Rome and went back to the U.S. His first visit to NYC a year or two later along with his mother ALida Valli was fantastic. Alas he came back alone a year or two later and was rather strange I have to say.. In any case I never heard from him again… I told Allison, his then girlfriend about his passing. She was sorry to hear it but there has been a lot of water under the bridge since 1973 for all of us….. He was such a handsome and charming fellow, in those days. Everybody fell under his charm…

        Liked by 1 person

    • YES i was quite friendly with him in 1973 when I lived in Rome for about 8 months. He was dating a lovely English girl and the three of us used to hang around. I went back to the States and in the next few years I saw him twice in NYC. He was a very nice guy…

      Like

  2. I acted with Carlo in December 1976. We were playing brother and sister in The Mousetrap at the Goldoni Theatre in Rome. His mother, Alida Valli, would watch from the wings and critique after the show. Once she appeared on stage and we all had to ad lib. It was tremendous fun. He was a lovely young man and I was sorry to hear of his death.

    Like

  3. My wife and I met him while dining in Bologna, Italy. He was such a nice guy and we enjoyed his company. Saddened to hear of his passing.

    Like

    • yes very nice We were good friends in Rome for about 8 months when I lived there in 1973, kept in touch for a while, saw him in NYC twice and then lost touch many years ago

      Like

  4. I worked with Carlo at The Bristol alley Playhouse in 1964. We reconnected a few years ago. He was a great guy and a good friend.

    Like

  5. Does anyone know if Carlo did a season of summer stock in the US as an apprentice in about 1965? Did he ever go by the name Carlo(s)?

    Like

Leave a comment