LSoH Takes on Frankenstein: The True Story

LSoH38Growing up in the early ’70s, the small town I lived didn’t have it’s own  movie theater, so I had to get my beginning monster education from the TV. From shows like Night Gallery, Kolchak: The Night Stalker, to plenty of made-for-TV movies around that time that were horror themed, it was everything a young horror fan could ask for. And I loved them all. But there was one show which was shown over two nights in 1973 that stuck in my mind for decades. It was Jack Smight’s 1973 film Frankenstein: The True Story, starring a wide array of actors such as James Mason, Leonard Whiting, David McCallum, Jane Seymour, Agnes Moorehead, Ralph Richardson, John Gielgud, and Tom Baker.

At the time, I had no idea just how far away the “true” part really was, but when I was a 8-year old boy, all I knew was that it was mind-blowing. I can vividly remember watching this with my slightly older brother, amazed at some of the gore on screen, and anxiously waiting for part 2 to take place the two nights later. Years later, after finally being able to track down the full unedited edition, I could re-visit this great tale, which I did multiple times. Even after being more educated about the “true story”, I still consider this a favorite. And now, thanks to Little Shoppe of Horrors, I will once again be able to dive into this wonderful production.

Frankenstein the true story1

Coming out in June of this year, Little Shoppe of Horrors # 38 will be featuring this great flick, in its 120 page tribute! It will feature over 400 photos, most of which have never been published before, as well as the feature article, Beautiful Creature, by Sam Irvin. The issue will also feature exclusive interviews with over 20 cast and crew members, such as actors Leonard Whiting, Jane Seymour, David McCallum, Nicola Pagett, co-writer Don Bachardy, and so many more.

The issue is only $10.95 + $3.25 postage. And if you place your order now, along with any of their previous editions, you can get a free copy of issue #28 which features Hammer’s remake of The Woman in Black. For all the ordering details, head to their website HERE.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

