Monster Party at the Chicago Toy Show

chicago-toy-show

Even though I’m a huge horror fan and collector, I tend to stay away from the horror toys. Mainly because once you start down that road, not only does it go on forever, but has so many side paths and diversions, that your bank account will hate you forever, not to mention trying to find space for all of the stuff you start to find. But I do like seeing some of the stuff, especially the older items that I remember from my childhood, and even more so, seeing how much it is going for these days. That is the reason why I, along with my wife Dawn and son Nick, headed out to the Chicago Toy Show today. As it turns out, it was well worth the trip.

For Nick, who is into video games like I am horror, he found more than a few dealers selling video games, video game systems, and other related merchandise. And since Nick grew up helping me at conventions, not to mention really knowing the video game market, he knows a good deal when he sees it, or if something was way overpriced, and how to tell if a dealer is honest or giving you a sales pitch. I have to say, I was kind of proud listening to him talk to a dealer who obviously didn’t know what he was selling, and seeing right through the guy’s pitch.

rick-goldschmidtBut for me, what I didn’t expect to find was seeing author Rick Goldschmidt set up there with a bunch of things from Rankin/Bass. Goldschmidt is the expert/historian on Rankin/Bass and had such a wonderful display of different items, all bringing back wonderful memories. For you younger fans out there, Rankin/Bass was a staple of my childhood, like everyone else’s in the ’60s & ’70s, from Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer, Santa Claus is Coming to Town, and especially, Mad Monster Party, which was another one of their stop-motion animated shows for kids, but this one was filled with all the classic monsters. Goldschmidt had written a few books on the work of Rankin/Bass, but in 2011 released on specifically on Mad Monster Party, which he was selling copies of there. Since I had never gotten around to picking it up, now was the perfect time. Not only was he autographing the book, he also drew a little caricature of Dracula as well. Plus, he was even selling them cheaper than they go for online! Such a deal. I also picked up a print of the Jack Davis artwork done for the movie from him as well. This piece is definitely getting framed and proudly displayed in the Krypt.

For more information on Goldschmidt, check out his blog HERE.

The only other item I purchased was again, something that I never thought I’d be even looking at adding to my collection. As we wandered through the different buildings, we did see a lot of monster and horror related toys, from old classic monster stuff to the newer items. But then I came across one dealer that had a few 8mm film reels, still in the colorful little boxes. Now I have no intention of ever buying a 8mm film projector, let alone start collecting the film prints. But when I came across one for Hammer’s Frankenstein Must Be Destroyed, which just happens to be my favorite of their Frankenstein series, it immediately got my attention. As you can see below, the artwork is just awesome. But just as I was going to pass one it because of what it was, I saw that it was priced at only $15. For that, I couldn’t just walk away. Now I can proudly have that on display in the Krypt…and hope I never find any more that look this cool and are that cheap!

20161023_154551

While I only found those few things to purchase, it still was a lot of fun just walking around and seeing a lot of items from my childhood. Almost like a little time machine that brought back a lot of memories. From old board games to action figured that I used to have, it was great just wandering the aisles and having a memory pop in my head that would put a smile on my face. Sometimes that happy memory is just what you need to brighten your day. I think that is a big reason why there are those that collect these types of items. And more power to you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

