Romero Gets A Star

Romero.jpgIt was announced today that George Romero would be getting one of those illustrious stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. And all I can say is it’s about damn time. For a man who pretty much invented the modern day zombie, created so many films that gave millions of us the chills, and more than a few nightmares, it’s nice to see him get a little bit of credit for his work.

My very first horror convention that I attended was at a Fangoria Weekend of Horrors in LA in 1988. I had never seen or met anyone famous before so one of the first ones that I see there, just standing outside the dealer room, was the one and only Romero. I pulled out my copy of Tom Savini’s Grand Illusions and asked him to sign it since he wrote the forward to it, which he graciously did with a huge smile. That was my very first autograph. And I still have that copy of the book.

I hate trying to come up with a top ten list, or even top twenty, only because there are so many great films that I love. But I know that there are two titles that would constantly be floating around in those lists: Night of the Living Dead and Creepshow, both products of Mr. Romero. So I’m thrilled and delighted that he will get a little bit of recognition from the normal part of society. But seeing him at a convention these days, and see the fans line up to see him, even ones that weren’t even born when his second sequel of Night came out, shows me that his legacy will live on in the great cinema that he has given us, with a much brighter and longer lasting shine than any star on a sidewalk.

Leave a Reply

