Naschy at the Drive-in???

driveinmonsterama2016

Okay, so I’ve posted many times here about my love of not only the Drive-ins but also of the work of Paul Naschy. So needless to say, when I saw the lineup for the Drive-In Super Monster-Rama at the Riverside Drive-In in Vandergrift, PA, well….let’s just say I was a little excited. They were showing not just one Paul Naschy flick, not two, but THREE! And to push me over the edge even more, they were also showing one of the Blind Dead films! How could this even be possible?

horror of the zombiesHere is what they have announced for this event:

Friday, Sept. 9th
Horror of the Zombies (1974) – Amando de Ossorio’s third entry in his Blind Dead series
Night of the Howling Beast (1975) – One of the best of Paul Naschy’s werewolf epics
House of Psychotic Women (1974) A great Spanish giallo with Naschy
Curse of the Devil (1973) – Another entry in the Naschy werewolf series

Saturaday, Sept. 10th
House of Dark Shadows (1970) – Dan Curtis’ gothic soap opera jumps to the big screen
Night of Dark Shadows (1971) – Another entry in the Curtis’ gothic storyline
The House that Dripped Blood (1971) – One of Amicus’ best horror anthology
The Bat People (1974) – Fun little monster romp with effects by Stan Winston

There is a Facebook Event page HERE, or their regular Facebook Page is HERE. You can find all the updates listed on these.

werewolf and the yetiWe went to one of these events several years ago and had a blast, but it is really too far for us to make it on a regular basis. But the fact that they are screening these Spanish horrors, I might need to figure something out. The problem I have is that it is the same weekend as the HorrorHound Weekend convention in Indianapolis, Indiana. Now…it’s not completely out of the realm of possibility for me to drop off my wife and son at the show with all our merch Friday morning, let them set up while I take off from there and make the 6 hour drive to PA to make the Friday night movies. After the films, I could catch a few hours of sleep in the wee hours of the morning, then drive back to make the rest of the show on Saturday! Trust me….this just might have to happen. Passing up the chance to see three of Senor Naschy’s epics on the big screen is something that I don’t know if I can do. I mean, how often does an opportunity like this present itself? September is four months away, so I have plenty of time to plot and plan this task.

And yes, I am this crazy.

Leave a Reply

