Soundtrack Review: The Invitation

the invitation cd
The Invitation

Released by Lakeshore Records, 2016
16 tracks with a total running time of 38 min.
Music by Theodore Shapiro

Usually I get these soundtracks to review before I’ve had the chance to see the film. I usually like it that way because I am just relying on the sounds of what I’m hearing to base my review on, rather than any visual images that are given to me by the movie itself. But while I’ve been listening to this for a little while, I had the chance to see the film the other day at a screening in Chicago. And I have to say, even though I this music has been floating around in my head for a little while, I was amazed at how well it work inside the film.

Without giving anything about the movie, it has a group of friends getting together after a long period of not seeing each other, for reasons that are explained later. But right away, you get the sense that things are not right. And that is where this music comes in and just drives home those feelings.

There isn’t really much in the way of melodies or themes here, but basically just strands of notes and sounds that slowly imbed themselves into your psyche, somehow putting you on edge without even knowing it. It makes you feel..uncomfortable, nervous, uneasy, and you’re not sure why. What we hear is not loud and in your face…or ears, as the case may be, which is what some soundtracks do to get a reaction out of you. But good ones, like this one, gets that reaction but through a much slower and deeper approach, one that seems to start by entering the back of your brain.

Using strings for quite a bit of the score, Shapiro does an excellent job creating a mood, dark and foreboding, with very few notes. Great talent here.

 

One thought on “Soundtrack Review: The Invitation

Leave a Reply

