Soundtrack Review: The Abominable Dr. Phibes

phibescd
The Abominable Dr. Phibes
Released in 2005, by Perseverance Records
14 Tracks, with a running time of 39:49 min.
Composed by Basil Kirchin

One of the earliest movies that I remember where I loved a piece of music from it, was the opening organ music that Dr. Phibes is playing in the beginning of The Abominable Dr. Phibes. Hell, I even recorded it off my video tape on to cassette so I could listen to it by itself. With Price doing his best Phantom of the Opera impersonations, it’s one of the many fond memories I have of this film. Well, that piece of music is here on this soundtrack.

Which brings me to this soundtrack. While this isn’t filled with the gothic sounds or creepy atmosphere that I usually like my soundtracks, what this does have is memories. Just listening to this score brings back the film in my mind. Maybe it’s because I’ve seen it so many times, but it’s a great score for a great movie. The film does have an eerie sense to it, since during these elegant ballroom waltzes, you have a skeleton-faced man dancing with a young and beautiful woman! But there are moments in the score, like the Dr. Phibes theme, where it does bring a sense of sadness.

Perservence Records has done another great job with this release. While the material is from a few different sources, they have done a fine job digitally mastering them here. Once again, it’s nice to see another small label doing such great work for fans of these types of movies. The disc comes with a 20-page insert that is filled with notes from the composer, the director and also some great artwork from the movie.

Leave a Reply

