The Complete History of The Return of the Living Dead Book Review

rotld

The Complete History of The Return of the Living Dead
by Christian Sellers & Gary Smart
Published by Plexus Books, 2010. 288 pages.

You know a film is popular when it spawns 4 sequels, even when none of them come close to the original film. Even after 25 years, the original Return of the Living Dead is probably more popular now then it ever was. Which is a perfect time for this book to come out. Sellers and Smart have gotten input from so many people who were involved in all 5 of these films, from the actors to the directors to the makeup artists, and every one in between. You will read stories about the problems during filming, issues between the directors and the actors, how each film was marketed and promoted and countless other little inside stories. Hearing directly from the people involved, you really get a sense of what went on during those productions. These aren’t a writer’s interpretation of events, but from the people that were there in the trenches. All in all, it paints a wonderfully bloody picture of what goes on making these low budget films that have become cult favorites. You’ll find this volume very easy to read through and even easier to pick up where you left off, if you are like me and read in short spurts most of the time!

If you are a fan of ANY one of these movies, then this book is a must for your collection. I guarantee that you will read something about these movies that you didn’t know before.  And that, my friends, is a sign of a great book.

3 thoughts on “The Complete History of The Return of the Living Dead Book Review

  1. This is one that I didn’t pick up and now I kind of regret it.

    I’m in the minority in thinking the first movie is just okay. My favorite is probably the third. Because of this, I was able to hold off buying this one. Now it’s a bit harder to find.

    Like

      • Most of my friends would agree with you, and I really like moments of the original, too. I love Miguel A Nunez, and Thom Mathews is likable in this one.

        For me though, it’s always been one of the highly regarded horror movies that didn’t click with me as well as it did with others. Maybe it has something to do with how much I love the other two releases that year – Re Animator and Day of the Dead.

        Like

Leave a Reply

