Unmasked Book Review

unmasked

Unmasked: The True Life Story of the World’s Most Prolific Cinematic Killer
By Kane Hodder & Michael Aloisi
Published by AuthorMike Dark Ink, 2011.  315 pages.

Seeing Mr. Hodder at more conventions than I can remember, when his autobiography came out, I knew I needed to add it to my reference book collection. Being a stunt man, I’m sure he was going to have some great stories.  But I was surprised to find out that this really is about the man more than his career. Sure, there are some good stories in here, but it really is a personal look inside this cinematic killer. From his childhood of dealing with bullies to going through the long recovery from his burn accident, Hodder and author Mike Aloisi weave an interesting tale that is hard to put down. In fact, it only took me about 4 days to get through this book once I started.

Now, if you’ve ever met Hodder at a show, or been around him for any length of time, it is easy to see the kind of humor and attitude his has. And he makes no apologies for that either, at the shows or in the book. That is who he is, like it or not. There are some things that he does that I think is a bit much, but again, he doesn’t try to hide anything or make himself out to be any different than he is. So for that, I give him credit. But in his book, he really opens up and tells some very revealing stories from his life and what he has gone through. It really is a great tale of showing someone that has come back from the brink of death and never given up on his dreams and working hard to make those come true. If you are a fan of Hodder, then you probably already have this book. If you don’t, then you need to. But even if you’re not, it is still a very interesting read and look inside this guy’s head.

3 thoughts on “Unmasked Book Review

  1. I first met Hodder at Spookyworld in Massachusetts right after Jason Goes to Hell came out. He’s always been extremely warm and friendly.

    I’ve been meaning to read his book, but there have been so many expensive film books that I’ve bought recently that this one (and the Gunnar Hansen book) have slipped. I will pick it up this year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

