William Castle Bio Book Review

castlebook

Step Right Up! I’m Gonna Scare the Pants Off America: Memoirs of a B-Movie Mogul
By William Castle
Originally Published in 1976, Reprinted in 1992 by Pharos Books. 264 pages.

I’ve been a fan of William Castle’s for a long time. Not only was he responsible for producing the tv series Ghost Story which I used to watch at the ripe old age of 6 years old, but photos of his films were always pasted all over the horror magazines and books of my youth. From the shot of the bloody arm coming out of the bathtub in The Tingler to the shot of the ghoulish face of Mr. Sardonicus, they were all there.

I had heard stories that some of Castle’s recollections might not be entirely 100% accurate. Who knows? But at this point, I don’t really care. I still found this book extremely enjoyable, and amazing at how movies were made ‘back in the day’. I finished this book in less than a week. It’s not that it was an amazingly fast read (which it is), but it was such a fascinating story of Mr. Castle and his rise to the King of the Gimmick films!

With an great introduction by John Waters (in he revised edition), I couldn’t recommend this book enough. The only problem is that it’s pretty hard to find these days, without paying a very high price at most places.

Leave a Reply

