Movie Review: Cooties

cooties-posterCooties (2014)
Directed by Jonathan Milott & Cary Murnion
Starring Elijah Wood, Rainn Wilson, Aliso Pill, Jack McBrayer, Leigh Whannell, Nasim Pedrad, Ian Brennan, Jorge Garcia

I guess there is something to be said about a film that we hear a lot about before the film, but then we don’t too hear much after it comes out. Sometimes we don’t even realize that it was even released. This film is a perfect example of this, at least for me. The only reason I found out it came out was that it showed up at Redbox when I was scrolling through the titles. Should have given me a clue right there. But I rented it anyway.

Now, this wasn’t a total waste of time. But close. They had a fun little idea that could have been a great little dark horror/comedy. They did a good job with the gore and even more kudos to the gag factor. Anybody that still likes chicken nuggets might change their mind after the opening credit sequence. The problem was that it just wasn’t funny. Some of the characters were interesting and unique, like Whannell’s, but then we get Wilson’s who is about as by-the-book as you can get. The jokes just weren’t that funny, and some were forced, over and over again, and became less funny each time.

I’m a big fan of a lot of this cast here, so that gave me high hopes. I know Wood is a huge horror fan so I was hoping for another great genre role for him, but this wasn’t it. Really a shame that this didn’t turn out better. I am even more shocked that Whannell co-wrote this, since I’ve enjoyed a lot of what he’s been involved with. But something seemed to have gotten lost here.

Leave a Reply

