Monster Bash Conference Next Weekend!

Next weekend, I will be making the trip to Mars…Mars, Pennsylvania, that is, for the October Monster Bash Conference! Last June, we did our first Bash and had such a great time that I knew I wanted to come back for more. Of course, this is going to be an interesting trip since I will be making it on my own. The rest of the Kitley crew can’t make it for a variety of reasons, so that means it is just going to be me. Hopefully I’ll survive the 7 hour/500 mile drive each way! Unless I can con some poor SOB to make the trip with me!

I war-of-the-colossal-beastwas bummed to hear that Barbara Steele had to cancel due to illness and wish her a speedy recovery. But the Bash head honcho Ron Adams didn’t waste any time in getting a replacement. In fact, a BIG replacement! Mr. B.I.G. himself, Bert I. Gordon, director of such classics as Food of the Gods, Empire of the Ants, The Amazing Colossal Man, The Cyclops, and many more. He will be joining the rest of the guests, such as Anne Serling (Twilight Zone creator Rod Serling’s daughter), Blue Demon Jr., Jeremy Ambler, Lisa Marie, Felix Silla, and Pat Priest..

This show is very similar to Cinema Wasteland, in that this is more about celebrating the genre and the people involved than selling autographs. Yeah, I know, you’ve heard this before. But I think it is important enough to keep bringing this up, to hopefully show more people that there are more important things in life than an $80 autograph or $110 photo op. It really comes down to the movies. These are the ones that we grew up with, ones that we enjoyed then and still do to this day. These movies were a safe escape from reality, and I bet for some of us out there, might even have helped us get through some difficult times in our lives, especially our childhood. And at a place like Monster Bash, we are not only not alone, but amongst hundreds of other like-minded fans. I mean, what other show do they show a classic Mexican horror movie Friday night and supply free tacos and burritos?!?!? How can this not be a good time?

So hopefully we’ll see you out there this weekend. Make sure you stop by our table and say hello. I always love to chat with fellow monster fans.

For all the information about the Bash, head over to their website HERE.

Leave a Reply

